Circuit judge

Circuit judges sit in the crown court and the county courts.

Circuit judges sit in the Crown Court and the County Courts within their particular region(of which there are seven). There are around 600 Circuit judges in England and Wales. Some Circuit judges may deal specifically with criminal or civil cases, others may have deal with public and/or private law family cases whereas some may specialise in Chancery or mercantile cases. Circuit judges can also sit in the Criminal Division of the Court of Appeal. They hear trials in a county court for amounts in excess of £25,000.00.

They are addressed as 'His or Her Honour Judge (Surname)' and referred to as 'His or Her Honour'. They are sometimes referred to as "purple judges" because of their purple ceremonial dress robes.

They may sit as Deputy High Court judges and are below High Court judges but above District judges in the hierarchy.

All judges, when they are sworn in, must take two oaths/affirmations. The first is the oath of allegiance and the second the judicial oath; these are collectively referred to as the judicial oath.

Courts and Tribunals Judiciary | Circuit judge

Paula Tyler | Judicial Appointments Commission

Want the best job in the world? Become a circuit judge - The Law Society





Related Items

The items below list this as being related in some way.

Amazon's recommended Books

RSS Feeds