This is the term used to describe the end of a parliament.


The Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011 came into force on 15th September 2011. The Act sets out that a general election will be held on the first Thursday of May every five years. Under the Act, Parliament will be dissolved 25 working days before the general election. A few days before the dissolution of Parliament an announcement may be made for the prorogation of Parliament. At that stage all parliamentary business will end but the dissolution of Parliament will not have taken place.

When Parliament is dissolved all business in the House of Commons will cease, each seat in the House will become vacant and MPs will have to be re-elected if they wish to take up their seat again. All MPs will lose their parliamentary privileges and are given a few days to remove their paperwork from their offices.

The Speaker of the House of Commons is treated in the same way as all other MPs and must stand for re-election.

Unlike members of the House of Commons, members of the House of Lords are appointed not elected so they will hold on to their positions and will have limited access to the premises but there will be no Parliamentary business taking place.

Because Parliament and Government are two separate institutions the Government does not resign when Parliament is dissolved. The Government ministers will continue to run the departments for which they are responsible and will remain in control of them until a new administration is formed but those who were MPs will not be able to use their MP status.


End of the 2015-17 Parliament - News from Parliament - UK Parliament

What is the dissolution of Parliament? - CBBC Newsround


Related Items

The items below list this as being related in some way.

Amazon's recommended Books

RSS Feeds