Lords of appeal in ordinary

Also known as law lords, they sat in the house of lords until the supreme court opened in october 2009.

Lords of Appeal in Ordinary (also known as Law Lords) must have 15 years rights of audience experience in the Supreme Court or have held high judicial office for at least 2 years. 

Selection was by invitation and the appointment was made by the Queen on the nomination of the Prime Minister. 

The Constitutional Reform Act 2005, meant that the UK had a separate Supreme Court for the first time. The act provided for the separation of the Supreme Court from Parliament and from government.

The Law Lords carried out the judicial work of the House of Lords until 30 July 2009. The final appeal hearings and judgments of the House of Lords took place on 30 July 2009 when the judicial role of the House of Lords as the highest appeal court in the UK ended.

From 1 October 2009, the Supreme Court of the UK assumed jurisdiction on points of law for all civil law cases in the UK and all criminal cases in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

The 12 Lords of Appeal in Ordinary (the Law Lords) at that time became the first justices of the 12-member Supreme Court and were disqualified from sitting or voting in the House of Lords.On retirement from the Supreme Court they can return to the House of Lords as full Members but newly-appointed Justices of the Supreme Court will not have seats in the House of Lords.

For further information about the role and work of Lords of Appeal in Ordinary: Judiciary of England and Wales.

Appointments of Justices - The Supreme Court

The Supreme Court

Follow The UK Supreme Court@UKSupremeCourt

Related Items

The items below list this as being related in some way.

Amazon's recommended Books

RSS Feeds